The Novella Challenge

3469696707_c188941c4c_z

I’ve been wanting to try and write a novella for a while. Mainly because the length of a piece changes things, and I enjoy mucking around with structure.

Also, it’s a nice length. Long enough for structural conventions to apply, short enough that it’s not going to be a year long commitment. So I can experiment without running the risk of getting through 80000 words and going “so what is this actually supposed to be?”

Instead it will be 20000-30000 word mess 😀 (Shhh, I am a multi-reviser and not a plotter. “What is this mess?” is a revision question)

*nods.*

Anyway. I’ve been having significant issues with procrastination lately. I think it’s mostly to do with the day-job. I’ve graduated, I’m working full time in an actual profession, and it’s provided a lot of financial freedom for me to do what I want.

Also, people just expect you to do your job, and do it well. There aren’t assessments every four weeks. I think I actually have more time now than I used to.

This is not a good thing, writing wise. I have historically achieved far more when I’d only had time to scoff a sandwich and sleep.

So I’m going to limit the time I have, and see if that helps.

I’m going to try and write a novella in a week. This is actually an achievable goal for me – my first drafts are terribad, and I normally take three drafts to get something I can actually take into polite company. As such, my first drafts are very fast, when I put my mind to it. (I have an old childhood friend who can give evidence about how much my spelling and grammar suffered in those first drafts of yesteryear though. As I said – terribad).

So yes, the first draft of a novelette, by this time next week. This is mostly done in fun – if I fail, then so be it, I’ll still have started something. I think it could be interesting too, to see how it goes.

Picture taken from flickr, under creative commons, attributed to Niclas Freidwall

2 thoughts on “The Novella Challenge

  1. Narcissist says:

    “I have an old childhood friend who can give evidence about how much my spelling and grammar suffered in those first drafts of yesteryear though”

    I wonder who that is 😉

Leave a Reply

