Mirror Structure – Using patterns to plan stories

IMG_2748

Mirror structure is a catch-all phrase – it’s more of a over-arching principal than a paint-by-numbers structure.

So why seperate it out as a principal? Well I hate planning ahead of time. I lose interest in the story if I know what’s going to happen. At the same time, I run into issues with my endings if I don’t have some format to work by.

Mirror structure is very simple:

– Finish what you start

– Resolve the relationship questions that you pose

– Fulfil the promises made to the reader.

I call it mirror structure because I use this when I get to my sticking point. I look back at what I’ve written, see the relationship questions posed, the promises made, and see what I’ve started. Then I attempt to resolve it all in a satisfactory and unexpected way.

So how does this work in reality? Onwards to the next blog post, my friends.

Picture taken from Flickr under Creative Commons attributed to Christian Holmer

Leave a Reply

