Getting Sick and Tired of Your Story

2301381114_a1d4d1622c_z

 

Something I’ve noticed recently – I tend to write an act of whatever novel I’m working on, then go and complete a number of short stories. Eventually I’ll get over writing in that format, come back to my main long work, and forge into the next act. Halfway through act two, I’ll generally get the inclination to go write some more shorts again.

I also have a great difficulty finishing stories, especially once I know the end. The excitement of figuring out these characters and where they’re going evaporates once there’s a foregone conclusion. It’s all a bit of a hard slog after that.

So what to do? Well, I made a list, because what is the internet without lists? 😀

  • Change it up

I know some people can’t do this, but I’m not one of them. If you are able to write more than one thing at once, make sure they’re significantly different so you don’t muck up whatever story you’re in, and write to a point. That way you’ll avoid using the stories as procrastination when you’re just lazy about writing your other story. Which leads me to point two

  • Slog through

Sometimes, you’re not really over your story. It’s not that you’ve written about 15k in four days and can’t stand the site of it more. If that was the case, then you would deserve a break. No. Sometimes, you’ve only written 200 word and you really can’t figure out this scene. If leaving it alone for a while fails, then you’re probably just going to have to come back and deal with it. Don’t use other things, including other stories, to procrastinate it.

  • Realise you won’t like everything about writing.

I like discovering the characters and dialogue. Can’t stand action scenes, or description. Can’t stand writing things that I already know will happen. I like to discover it as I go along. But you know what? Tough cookies. Eventually, I will get to a point where there is only one possible direction for the story to go. If that’s climax is an action scene with no dialogue? Then I’m just going to have to live with it, or no-one else will get to know my characters or laugh at my dialogue either.

And there you go. That’s my internet list for the day *salutes the interwebs*

 

Picture attributed to Vicky’s pics, taken from Flickr @ https://flic.kr/p/4vnbqJ

Leave a Reply

