Flash Fiction: David, Please

This is for the Flash Fiction Challenge on Chuck Wendig’s blog. Audio version to follow 🙂 Pretend it’s phone messages. Hopefully the rest will be self explanatory.

“Hey, idiot, pick up.”

“Look, I know you don’t want to talk, but I’m not kidding. I really need you to pick up.”

“Look, I’m sorry I shouted. I just don’t understand how that works, okay? I don’t like the idea of you having someone else’s memories in your head. Especially his.”

“David?”

“David? Please. It’s… I can’t explain over the phone.”

“Alright. You want to know why I don’t like you having his thoughts in your head? He’s dead. I don’t care if he has a daughter that needs that shit passed onto her, it’s not okay. I can’t believe you didn’t talk to me about this before hand.”

“You know he tried to kill my father once? It was batshit crazy, one of those “Save the girl or save the world choices.” I know right? Psychopath.”

“David? I know you’re there. I can see your signal on my map. It’s… I’m glad you didn’t disallow me from that.”

“You know, you actually met my dad the week before Jack tried to kill him. Papa threw you out of the house at two in the morning, remember? You can right back, with that stupid grin on your face.”

“Do you know if Papa had died, the memory software wouldn’t have been created in the first place. There would have been  reason for Jack to kill my mother. No… No reason for the border planet to die. Without that memory software… none of this would have happened.”

“David. David… If my father had died, Jack would have moved through his grief. Would have dealt with his son’s death another way. Wouldn’t have killed all those people trying to get him back. Wouldn’t have gone mad. Wouldn’t have died. My brother would still be my brother, not the man he became.”

“Papa? Papa, are you there? Please. Pick up.”

Leave a Reply

